Dear Praying/Supporting Friends,

It's been a whirldwind (though a good whirlwind:). I flew home yesterday (Wednesday); arrived at the house at 2pm; packed up the kids and bought tickets by 4pm; drover 2.5 hrs to Jogja; spent the night; got up at 5:00 to make our flight; arrived in Singapore at 11:30am. And, to the praise of God's grace, I truly haven't felt stressed---which, if you know me, that is truly a miracle:) There was a group of women (maybe Buddhist monks...heads shaved) on the plane today that entertained Hudson a bit, so that helped:) On to the important stuff.

When I got back today at lunchtime, I could definitely tell an improvement in S. She is still extremely "tired" (weak), but seems to be gaining a little strength. At the doctor's suggestion, she took two walks today--one down the hall, and one to a garden area in the hospital. That tired her out, but it got her some sun and got the blood flowing.

Yesterday, they found traces of typhus in her blood. They immediately put her on an antibiotic. When we spoke with the doctor today, he said that even though there may be traces, these are not significant enough to be the foundational cause.

I wrote the above paragraphs several hours ago. I just got back to the mission house (10pm). S is doing the best I've seen her since we've been here! Praise the Lord! During the time that I had come back to the house to put the kids to bed, she had taken a shower and eaten over half of her meal on her own! And she said she was even kind of hungry for it. We sat on the little sofa and talked for about 5-10 minutes. By this time, she was wiped out, but she said, "I'm encouraged." Amen! By 8:15 she was asleep:) Praying that the long night's rest, the nutrients from the food, and ultimately the prayers of many will continue to bring healing to her body.

I know you've been praying for the kids...they're so sweet; but they sure do miss their mom. And sleeping in 3 different beds in 3 different cities in 2 different countries in the space of 3 nights is slightly less than usual. When I put Hadassah down for her nap today, she looked at me and said, "How many days are you going to be gone?" I had to convince her that I wasn't leaving her again. I'm staying with the kids tonight (please pray that they will sleep well), and tomorrow morning first thing we will go see S at the hospital. Eager to see how God will work overnight.

I'm pooped. But joyful. Glad to have my family together again. Glad for an opportunity to share Grace with a taxi driver tonight. Glad that all of God's promises are true. Glad that the results aren't up to me. Praise to Him.

j


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.