Today has been a full, but good day. S didn't sleep too great last night, and was a bit nauseated this morning (we think because of the sleeping pill). She got up, took a shower, ate, and by that time I was there (10:30). Almost immediately, Dr. Adrian came in and said that he was going to have her see the ENT doc (due to the continued tingling/numbness sensations in her face/head/neck). While we waited, we took a quick walk to the hospital garden. When we came back, we went straight the ENT. He did a scope of her nose and a scan of her sinuses/head. Everything came back fine. The two docs met and agreed that there is nothing serious at all and that the numbness is likely just a severe sinus infection and/or part of the post viral syndrome. 

About half-way through with the ENT, I ran home to get the kids to bed. After I got them down, I was eating a PB&J sandwich and got a message from S: "They're discharging me in an hour!"

I ran back to the hospital. The docs said that while their goal is to find out what's wrong, at this point they've ruled out anything serious. PRAISE THE LORD! Right now, S's key need is rest. And, unfortunately, there is construction going on _literally_ right under S's bed at the hospital, so rest was quite difficult. They advised her to go to the mission house, rest, see the kids, rest, eat, rest...you get the picture. She has a blood test and follow-up appointments early next week.

We praise God for this! We both feel that this is exactly the right timing. S is extremely tired, but thankfully she is not in pain or hurting (other than the sinus-type sensations). Our KEY REQUEST now is that she could sleep. She has a hard time getting to sleep right now. She's not worried; she's not anxious. Pray that God will help her body to just sleep. 

Thanks so much for your continued prayers. The docs said that although she is ready to leave the hospital, it's going to take her body a while to get back to normal strength. We will stay in Singapore until they give us the green light to head back home to Indonesia. Again, pray for God's gracious healing on her body. 

His goodness is overwhelming. Thank you, God.

Grateful. Tired. Joyful. Blessed.
1/11/2013 10:39:45 pm

God is good! We will keep praying...

Reply
Brian Kane
1/12/2013 07:42:10 am

Thanks for the update. We're praying for your wife. I'm amazed at the similarity between how things are playing out with her sickness and mine a month ago. Obvious dengue symptoms (joint pain, headache, fever, platelets very low) then days later things ramped up when, according to normal dengue, things should start getting better. I'm not saying that we had the same thing, its just some parts are eerily similar. According to the docs in TH, I still haven't been diagnosed either (though a doc here says I had dengue with severe post-viral complications due to dehydration). I also had major problems sleeping for the last 4-5 days I was in the hospital. I think it was from the heavy meds I'd been getting. I'd only be able to sleep 30min to an hour a night and I was having bizarre dreams. I ended up having to take sleeping meds as well. Even though I was getting better, not sleeping was very disturbing. I dreaded nights. After 4-5 days, I came around and started sleeping normally again. I'm praying for her empathetically.

Reply
Dan and Christin Kitchens
1/13/2013 06:18:50 am

J & S and babies...you are all in our prayers.

This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him. 1 John 5:14-15

We are asking for Sarah's continued healing, for her to get adequate rest and nutrition.
We ask for adequate rest and strength for you and for the babies to have their mommy and daddy back to 100%.
We know that He hears and He will restore.
Love to you all.

Giving Him the Glory~
The Kitchens

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.